RECORDING FEES, TRANSFER TAX AND PAYMENT OPTIONS
Our recording fees may differ from other counties.
- The fee to record a real estate document is $15.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page or side. The fee for the first page includes a $4.00 State Remonumentation fee.
- Transfer Tax must be paid at the time of recording for all documents which transfer an interest in property unless a proper exemption is noted. The transfer tax rate is computed at $1.10 per $1,000 for Wayne County, and $7.50 per $1,000 for the State of Michigan
- Our office accepts credit/debit cards, money orders, cashier's checks, certified checks, corporation checks, and law firm checks. Personal checks are not accepted at our counter but are accepted for mail transactions. Credit/debit cards are not accepted for mail transactions. Each document submitted for recording should be accompanied by a separate check totaling the amount of fees and transfer tax due (if any).
NON-RECORDABLE DOCUMENTSDocuments we determine to be non-recordable will be returned for correction and resubmission. If a group of documents is presented for recording with only a single check, and any one of the documents in the group does not meet the recording requirements, the entire group will be returned. Checks submitted with non-recordable documents will be returned with the unrecorded documents.
IMPROPER CHECK AMOUNTSWhen the check received exceeds the amount due for the document(s) by more than $25.00, or the amount of the check is less than the total amount due, the document(s) and check will be returned without being processed. When the received check exceeds the total amount due, but the surplus does not exceed $25.00, the document(s) will be processed - however, no refund will be made.
RETURN OF RECORDED DOCUMENTSDocuments submitted to and recorded by our office will be returned in the same manner in which they were received. Documents hand-delivered must be picked up by the same firm or agent who delivered them for recording. Mailed documents will be mailed back to the "return to" address specified on the document. This "return to" address is often for the attorney, banker, title agent, or realtor involved in the transaction and not the purchaser. If you are the purchaser and have not received a copy of your recorded document(s), you may purchase a copy from our website.
DISCHARGE OF MORTGAGEWhen a mortgage is 'Paid in Full', the lending institution is required to send our office a "Discharge of Lien" to be recorded. After the recording of this instrument, anyone may view or purchase a copy of the discharge on our website.
- Documents must have all original signatures and the names must be printed, stamped, or typed beneath the signatures.
- Documents executed in Michigan which convey or encumber real estate require a notary's acknowledgment.
- Documents must be on 8.5" x 11" or 8.5" x 14" paper and must have a 2.5" top margin for the first page, and a minimum 0.5" margin on the other three sides of all pages.
- Documents must be on white paper with black ink and have a 10-point minimum type size.
- The title or type of document must be identified on the first line of print.
- The property tax identification number and the commonly known address of the property should be on the document.
- Warranty deeds, deeds which contain a Covenant of Warranty, Land Contracts and Assignments of Land Contracts must be certified for payment of property taxes by the Wayne County Treasurer before recording with our office.
- Court orders cannot be recorded unless they are certified and sealed.
- The name and address of the person who drafted the document must appear on documents executed in Michigan.
- Death Certificates must be certified copies with the raised seal; a copy will not be recorded.
- Each document sent by mail for recording must include a complete "Return To" name and address.
COMMON REJECTION REASONS
- All signatures must be original. A copy is not recordable MCLA 565.201 (a)(e)
- Deed must cite consideration amount or cite county and/or state exemptions statute(s) and sub-paragraphs MCLA 207.505 and MCLA 207.526
- Document pages must have 2.5" top margin, 0.5" side and bottom margins on the first page. All subsequent pages must have 0.5" margin on all sides. The minimum font size is 10 point. Print must be black ink on white paper. Paper must be 8.5"x11" or 8.5"x 14" MCLA 565.201
- All court documents must be certified- a true copy is not recordable MCLA 565.401
- Signature and acknowledge sections must correspond MCLA 565.201 (b)
- Complete legal description of property, provide a better copy of the legal, name of city/lot number (s)/ subdivision name/ liber & page of plats/ unit numbers/ liber & page of master deed/ condo plan number MCLA 565.151 and MCLA 565.154
- Certified copy with raised seal of Death Certificate or Proof of Death Form MCLA 565.48
- The first five digits of the social security number must be obscured or removed MCLA 565.201(g)
- Notary must sign/cite expiration date/ name of county/ expiration date not clear MCLA 55.287
- Document must be certified for property taxes by county treasurer MCLA 211.235
- Print, stamp, or type names and titles beneath all written signatures. MCLA 565.401
- Documents must state exhibits are attached and the exhibits must be marked accordingly
- A complete, "Return To", (name and address) must appear on documents.